Good Design: The Ozark Trail 1-Person Backpacking Tent

The only thing I might add is a liner for wet days, like a small plastic trash bag. I can’t imagine loading this up with a lot of bulky, heavy items. I backpack in the backcountry of the Sierra Nevada. And I do day hikes in Sequoia National Park and on the coast.

Other items that you may want to keep at the foot of the sleeping area are also hard to access or reach if your head is near the door. For these styles, it seems most people want their head at the door side and so they have a constraint for which way the tent is set up if the ground is not flat. On the other hand, accessing the tent from the ozark trail canopy middle, or on the long side, gives one more degree of freedom. Assuming a symmetrical tent, like the Ozark Trail, my head could be placed at either end and both options would feel equally comfortable. In fact, my particular tent spot wasn’t completely flat so I quickly rotated my sleeping bag so that my feet weren’t above my head all night.

The front and hip straps make it very comfortable and takes alot of the pressure of your shoulders and back. Some 1-person tents will have two major spars or spines that cross for the main support structure. In the Ozark Trail tent, it has only one spar traveling down the center lengthwise with a single rib to open up the area in the middle. The four or six tent pegs hold the structure down but are crucial for the tent to stand by itself. The Ozark does need those pegs in the ground to be self-standing so setting up on rocks would be infeasible (at least without applying some clever tenting skills). Thru-hiking is defined as hiking the contiguous 230-mile backbone of the Ozark Trail in one trip.

I, on the other hand, could have stayed out longer. True, I wasn’t able to remove the rain fly to watch the stars or let the wind ventilate my tent, but I was able to enjoy the day hikes without any sort of worry. In essence, I had committed to the permanent rainfly option by default and there was a certain contentedness that came with that. The first good design feature is the placement of the door on the side, and more specifically on the long side of the tent. I’ve tried tents with the door on one end and it is cumbersome. For the end-door variants, one has to toss their sleeping bag down the tent when getting ready for bed.

I know some will immediately dismiss my review simply because I bought this pack at WalMart. I’ve been attempting to drop weight for the past several years, mostly because my knees can’t handle it. My shelters have gotten lighter as have my sleeping system — next in line for a diet was my carry system. Funds, however, were non existent and my CFO (i.e. my wife) wouldn’t increase my discretionary fund. In the following paragraphs I share just a few design features that, in my opinion, make this a well-designed product.

However, businesses and business conditions change, thus the information contained here is subject to change without the knowledge of the Ozark Trail Association. However, some sources may run dry during extended periods of drought. Plan accordingly and carry or cache water in case you are not able to find a source close by. Always treat any water for drinking and cooking along the trail.

The Ozark Trail Montpelier 45L Backpack is the perfect companion for a long weekend. This 45-liter pack is designed with ample pockets to pack all of your gear and a lightweight internal frame for weight support. This pack has trail focused features like the hydration compatibility, trekking pole attachments and a padded waist belt with zip pockets for quick access to essentials. Browse all our gear like spacious tents, durable backpacks, warm sleeping bags, outdoor cooking supplies, and more. Carry everything you need for your next adventure in the Ozark Trail 45L Montpelier Backpack. The Ozark Trail Himont 50L Multi-Day Backpack is designed to hit the trails on a multi-day adventure, featuring a lightweight aluminum frame and ample storage.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started